Beethoven : Five Sonatas for Cello & Piano

Daniil Shafran (cello), Anton Ginsburg (piano)

Melodiya 0058

Analogphonic Records : 3 LPs 180 gram in box

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) :
    Cello Sonata No. 1 in F Major, Op. 5, No. 1 :
    A1 - 1 : Adagio sostenuto. Allegro
    A2 - 2 : Rondo. Allegro vivace
    Cello Sonata No. 2 in G minor, Op. 5, No. 2 :
    A3 - 1 : Adagio sostenuto ed espressivo. Allegro molto piu tosto presto
    C1 - 2 : Rondo. Allegro
    Cello Sonata No. 3 in A Major, Op. 69 :
    C2 - 1 : Allegro, ma non tanto
    D1 - 2 : Scherzo. Allegro molto
    D2 - 3 : Adagio cantabile - Allegro vivace
    Cello Sonata No. 4 in C Major, Op. 102, No. 1 :
    E1 - 1 : Andante - Allegro vivace
    E2 - 2 : Adagio - Allegro vivace
    Cello Sonata No. 5 in D Major, Op. 102, No. 2 :
    F1 - 1 : Allegro con brio
    F2 - 2 :Adagio con molto sentimento d'affetto

    Recording date unknown (1960’s)

    The "golden age" of recordings was from 1950 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

    Daniil Shafran (1923-1997) was one of the world’s best known concert cellists for many years. Many musicians consider him one of the most interesting phenomena of not only cello performing art but also the entire music culture of the 20th century. As many researchers note, Shafran's performance combined intellect and poetic inspiration, an impeccable taste and technique, in-depth interpretation of the author’s idea and originality in revealing the contents of works.
    Anton Ginsburg (1930-2002) was an outstanding pianist, pupil of Heinrich Neuhaus and winner of the Prague Spring International Competition. He was best known as an ensemble musician performing with Daniil Shafran, Mikhael Khomitzer and Igor Oistrakh. Many critics noted the pianist’s creative initiatives, temperament and keen musicality.

    "The Russian cellist extraordinaire, Daniil Shafran whimsical, tripping, intense, sensual, refined and intelligent... a rich source of fascination and stimulation for anyone with an open musical mind. One thing’s for sure : no one plays this music quite like Shafran did." - The Gramophone Magazine

    This Analogphonic record set was mastered from the original Firma Melodyia master tapes by Daniel Krieger, using pure analogue audiophile equipment, cut at Schallplaten Schneid Technik, and pressed at Pallas GmbH in Germany.

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai