Beethoven & Mozart Sonatas

Johanna Martzy (violin), Jean Antonietti (piano)

Deutsche Grammophon SLPM 139 392

Analogphonic Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827) : Sonata for piano and violin, No. 8 in G-Major, Op. 30, No. 3 :
    A1 - Satz: Allegro Assai
    A2 - Satz: Tempo Di Menuetto Ma Molto Moderato e Grazioso
    A3 - Satz: Allegro Vivace

    Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) : Sonata for piano and violin in F-Major :
    B1 - Satz: Allego
    B2 - Satz: Andante
    B3 - Satz: Rondo - Allegretto Grazioso

    Recorded on July 7-10, 1952 at Beethovensaal, Hannover.

    The "golden age" of recordings was from 1950 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

    The last and by no means least of the modern Hungarian school of violin playing, Johanna Martzy made relatively few commercial recordings. But all of them were made in her prime, and most of them acquired a legendary and “cult” status after her short career. This Deutsche Grammophon - Beethoven (op.30-3) and Mozart (KV 376) Sonatas with pianist Jean Antonietti – is no exception; she was devoted to Beethoven and Mozart, and her recitals often included the Sonatas by two composers. Martzy and Antonietti played two sonatas beautifully, their interpretations are well balanced, transparent and, in the best sense of the word, simple.

    This Analogphonic record was mastered from the original Deutsche Grammophon master tapes by Rainer Maillard, using pure analogue audiophile equipment, cut at Emil Berliner Studio Berlin, and pressed at Pallas GmbH in Germany.

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai