Gounod : Faust - Bizet : Carmen

Alexander Gibson conducting the Royal Opera House, Covent garden (1960)

RCA "Living Stereo" LSC 2449

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Charles Gounod (1818-1893) :
    Ballet Music from Faust :
    A1 - Waltz (Allegretto)
    A2 - Ensemble (Adagio)
    A3 - Dance of The Nubians
    A4 - Cleopatra's Dance
    A5 - Dance of The Trojan Maidens
    A6 - Helen's Dance
    A7 - Bacchanalia

    A8 - Funeral March of a Marionette

    Georges Bizet (1838-1875) :
    Carmen Suite :
    B1 - Prelude
    B2 - Entracte-Aragonaise
    B3 - Habanera
    B4 - Changing of The Guard
    B5 - Intermezzo
    B6 - Smuggler's March
    B7 - Entr'acte-Dragoons of Alcala

    Recorded at Kingsway Hall, London.

    Widely regarded as one of the great RCAs. Alexander Gibson conducts the Royal Opera House Orchestra, Covent Garden, performing ballet music from Charles Gounod's Faust and Georges Bizet's Carmen Suite. Featuring orchestral highlights from Faust and Carmen, the later selections on Side 2 are nothing short of spectacular. Outstanding clarity and stereo stage. Transparency and imaging is superb.

    The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

    This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Willem Makkee, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai