Henryk Szeryng in Recital

Henryk Szeryng, violin, and Charles Reiner, piano

RCA "Living Stereo" LSC 2421

Analogue Productions - Quality Records : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    A1 - Tomaso Antonio Vitali : Chaconne In G Minor
    A2 - Giuseppe Tartini : The Devil's Trill
    B1 - Giuseppe Tartini : Variations on a theme by Corelli
    B2 - Christoph Willibald Gluck : Melodie
    B3 - Fritz Kreisler : Allegretto
    B4 - Robert Schumann : Prophetic Bird, Op. 32, No. 7
    B5 - Ernesto Halffter, Jascha Heifetz : Danza de la Gitana
    B6 - Henryk Wieniawski : Scherzo-Tarantelle, Op. 16

    Polish-born violinist Henryk Szeryng (1918-1988) was probably the finest product of Carl Flesch's legendary teaching career (other luminaries to emerge from his studio in the years between the two World Wars include Ivry Gitlis and Ida Haendel). Possessing an iron technique and a musical intellect of rare insight, Szeryng established himself as one of the pre-eminent concert violinists of the post-World War II decades.

    He owned the Guarneri del Gesù "Le Duc" and "Sanctae Theresiae" violins, the Stradivarius "Hercules" violin, as well as the Stradivarius "Messiah" copy by Jean-Baptiste Vuillaume. The "Le Duc" was the instrument on which he performed and recorded mostly.

    The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

    This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai