Holst : The Planets

Zubin Mehta conducting the Los Angeles Master Chorale and the Los Angeles Philarmonic Orchestra (1971)

Decca SXL 6529

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Gustav Holst (1874-1934) :
    The Planets (1914 - 1916)
    A1 - Mars. the Bringer of War - Allegro
    A2 - Venus, the Bringer of Peace - Adagio
    A3 - Mercury, the Winged Messenger - Vivace
    A4 - Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity - Allegro giocoso
    B1 - Saturn, the Bringer of Old Age - Adagio
    B2 - Uranus, the Magician - Allegro
    B3 - Neptune, the Mystic - Andante

    Recorded in April 1971 at Royce Hall, Los Angeles, by James Lock and Colin Moorfoot.

    Earth was not created in a day. And the same applies to Gustav Holst’s interplanetary symphony which took him about three years to write. The composer employs a massive orchestra and rich orchestral colouring to portray each planet in his musical psychogram.
    Mars, the Bringer of War, rages with mechanical brutality, while Venus brings peace and an acceptance of life. Mercury, the Winged Messenger, darts here and there with quicksilver speed, while powerful and sovereign Jupiter brings jollity and reassurance. Saturn plods by with heavy tread, while Uranus with its contrasting changes in tempo remains enigmatic and extrovert. And because Pluto, the most distant planet had not yet been discovered, it is Neptune, the great unknown, which is lost in time and space in an endless ostinato of female voices.
    Zubin Mehta and the Los Angeles Philharmonic present this astronomical journey with precision and exhilaration, leaving neither time nor space for astrological speculation. As always, the excellent DECCA recording quality guarantees an unimpeded view of this musical galaxy.

    This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under http://www.pure-analogue.com

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai