Respighi : Pines and Fountains of Rome

Fritz Reiner, Chicago Symphony Orchestra

RCA "Living Stereo" LSC 2436

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) :
    A1 - Pines of the Villa Borghese
    A2 - Pines Near a Catacomb
    A3 - Pines of the Janiculum
    A4 - Pines of the Appian Way
    B1 - Fountain of Valle Giulia at dawn
    B2 - Triton Fountain at morn
    B3 - Fountain of Trevi at mid-day
    B4 - Villa Medici Fountain at sunset

    Fountains of Rome (1917), Pines of Rome (1924) and Roman Festivals (1928) are Respighi's trilogy of tone poems depicting the city of Rome. It is the Italian composer's tribute to his country's capital, some contemporary and some recalling the glory of the Roman Empire. While in Fountains of Rome the composer sought to reproduce by means of tone an impression of nature, in Pines of Rome he uses nature as a point of departure to recall memories and visions.

    The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

     This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai