Rimsky-Korsakoff : Scheherazade

Fritz Reiner conducting the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

RCA "Living Stereo" LSC 2446

Analogue Productions : LP 200 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908) : Scheherazade
    A1 - The Sea And Sinbads Ship
    A2 - The Story Of The Kalender Prince
    B1 - The Young Prince And The Young Princess
    B2 - Festival In Bagdad - The Sea - The Ship Goes To Pieces On A Rock Surmounted By A Bronze Warrior

    Scheherazade, also commonly Sheherazade, Op. 35, is a symphonic suite Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov composed in 1888; it is based on One Thousand and One Nights (also known as The Arabian Nights).

    This orchestral work combines two features typical of Russian music and of Rimsky-Korsakov in particular : dazzling, colorful orchestration and an interest in the East, which figured greatly in the history of Imperial Russia, as well as orientalism in general. The name "Scheherazade" refers to the main character Shahrazad of the One Thousand and One Nights. It is considered Rimsky-Korsakov's most popular work.

    The "golden age" of recordings was from 1955 to 1965, at the beginning of the LP and the stereo era, where pure vacuum tube amplification helped produce recordings demonstrating unparalleled fidelity and warmth, lifelike presence and illumination.

    This Analogue Productions LP was remastered by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound, using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head and was pressed on 200-gram virgin vinyl at Quality Record Pressings.

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai