Scriabin & Prokofiev : Piano Sonatas

Alexander Scriabin : Piano sonata No.3 in F sharp minor, Op. 23

Serge Prokofiev : Piano sonata No. 7 in B flat major, Op. 83

Glen Gould (recorded in 1968)

Columbia MS 7173

Speakers Corner Records : LP 180 gram

Brand New and Sealed Record

  • Contents & Details

    Alexander Scriabin (1872-1915) : Sonata No. 3 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 23
    A1 - Dramatico
    A2 - Allegretto
    A3 - Andante
    A4 - Presto con fuoco

    Sergei Prokofiev (1891-1953) : Sonata No. 7 in B-Flat Major, Op. 83
    B1 - Allegro inquieto
    B2 - Andante caloroso
    B3 - Precipitato

    Recorded in July 1967 & January, February and June 1968 at Columbia 30th Street Studio in New York City.

    Glenn Gould’s highly self-willed art of piano playing has not only contributed to the building of a myth around his artistic personality, but also placed several works from the vast piano repertoire under the magnifying glass (as it were) in musical life. One such work is Scriabin’s Piano Sonata No. 3 whose psychological, cyclical programme is held together by the theme, which recurs throughout the four movements. Unlike many other recordings, in Gould’s hands the piece takes on a pleasantly non-romantic pathos. Gould subdivides the various states of mind through many breathing spaces and softens the tone to pianissimo, thus forcing the listener to hold his breath and concentrate wholly upon the finely woven counterpoint.

    In contrast, Prokofiev’s Piano Sonata in B flat major is overwhelmingly raging with its hammering staccatos, yet not omitting to add a bold, and at times derisive character. The slow second movement is at times bell-like, and filled with a great radiance and a fine sparkle. It is followed by a final movement, which lasts several minutes and has a steely, aggressive nature. As incomparable as the works are in their structure, they both explore the mental extremes of human emotions.

    This Speakers Corner LP was remastered using pure analogue components only, from the original analogue studio tapes through to the cutting head, and was pressed with virgin vinyl at Pallas. More information under

© 2016 by Audio Note India, Kitab Mahal 3rd floor

192 Dadabhai Naoroji road, Fort, Mumbai